Author Joshua Schimel to lead Faculty Development Workshops

Joshua Schimel (University of California, Santa Barbara) will lead two all-day workshops on writing science on September 11th and 12th. MORE INFORMATION

Meet Susan Parks

Dr. Susan Parks, Assistant Professor of Biology, is an expert in the biology of marine organisms and the potential impacts of human activities on species in the marine environment. Dr. Parks specializes in the ecology and evolution of acoustic signaling. MORE INFORMATION (pdf)

Karin Ruhlandt Named Interim Dean of The College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Ruhlandt, Distinguished Professor & Chair of Chemistry (and SU ADVANCE co-PI), has been named the interim dean of The College of Arts and Sciences MORE INFORMATION

National Science Foundation ADVANCE Program at Syracuse University

Syracuse University's multi-disciplinary project, titled "The Inclusive Connective Corridor: Social Networks and the ADVANCEment of Women STEM Faculty," aims to change the face of the next generation of faculty in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The overarching strategy of this project is to create an equity-based, inclusive "connective corridor" to facilitate and anchor social relationships among faculty women and men in the 12 STEM departments at Syracuse University, and to link these faculty and units within a web of "resource hubs" on and off campus that arise from interdisciplinary and cross-sector (campus, industry, and community) collaborations. ICC builds on existing successful partnerships that have resulted in unique research opportunities for STEM faculty. The project will create a passageway of active relationships, opportunities, and resources that will unleash the power of diverse talent. READ MORE

In The News

Beth Prieve Receives NIDCD Grant

Dr. Prieve (Communication Sciences & Disorders) was recently awarded a grant by the NIDCD/NIH, to study and measure auditory responses among newborns.  READ MORE

Karen Doherty Appointed Department Chair

Dr. Doherty, a Professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, has been appointed chair of the department.  READ MORE

Amy Criss Elected President of Society for Mathematical Psychology

Dr. Criss (Psychology) has served on the board of the Society for Mathematical Psychology for the past 3 years and was recently elected to serve as its next president.   READ MORE

Marina Artuso receives NSF Grant

Dr. Artuso (Physics) is part of an elite team of physicists to receive an NSF grant to construct a new particle physics detector.  READ MORE

Katharine Lewis Receives Prestigious NIH Grant

Dr. Lewis (Biology) will conduct research that has the potential to facilitate the development of more effective treatments for spinal cord injuries and neuronal diseases that affect locomotion or sensory perception.  READ MORE

New Research Awards (2012-2014)

Recent recipients include Yun Huang (Information Studies), Lisa Manning (Physics), and Laura J. Steinberg (Dean, College of Engineering)  READ MORE

News Archive